Our ancestors have dwelled in Chiang Rai since the 7th century. Chiang Rai became the center of the Lanna Thai Kingdom during the 13th century. The region, rich in natural resources and textiles, was occupied by the Burmese until 1786.

Chiang Rai became a province in 1910, after being part of the kingdom of Lannathai for centuries.
After Lannathai was incorporated into Thailand, it stayed an autonomous region and thus the Chiang Rai area
was administered from Chiang Mai.

The province is rich in tourism resources in terms of natural attractions and antiquities, evidence of its past civilization. It is also home to various hill tribes who follow fascinating ways of life. Chiang Rai is also a tourism gateway into Myanmar and Laos.


  • Wat Rong Khun ( White Temple)
  • King Meng Rai Monument
  • Khun Kon Waterfall
  • Doi Tung and Wat Phra That Doi Tung
  • Golden Triangle
  • Chiang Saen
  • Doi Mae Salong
  • Chiang Khong
  • Hill Tribe Museum
  • Black House Museum "Baan Dam"
  • Clock Tower
  • The Hall of Opium
  • Phu Chee Fah
  • Wat Klang Wiang
  • Wat Phra Kaew
  • Mai Sai

  • Kasemrad Sriburin Hospital
  • Chiang Rai Rajabhat University
  • Chiang Rai Regional Hospital
  • Mae Fah Luang University
  • Overbrook Hospital
  • Santiburi Country Club Chiang Rai
  • Waterford Valley Golf Course
  • Night Market
  • Mae Sai
  • Walking street Saturday and Sunday
  • Central Plaza Department Store
  • Big C